Weekend Getaway: Bohol Bee Farm

I am not one to act on an impulse. People close to me would know that I always, always think twice –even three times, whenever I make decisions. I don’t know why, but my boyfriend teases me that it’s the nerd in me coming out (well, if smart is the new sexy, then I’ll take it. Hahaha!).

That’s why it came as a surprise – even to me, that I agreed to go on this spur-of-the-moment trip. My friends and I were having dessert and tea one evening, and one of us goes, “let’s go to Bohol!” “This weekend! Book it!” says the other. Before I even got the chance to count to a hundred, they were on their phones contacting a friend in Bohol and making arrangements, and in the blink of an eye, we were all set.

How do millennials call it? Ah, yes – #YOLO.

We arrived at Bohol Bee Farm Resort just in time for breakfast. The place is known for organic farming and produce, so if you’re into healthy eats, this is definitely the place for you.

IMG_2536

IMG_5878

fullsizerender

IMG_2545

The food was so good, that I couldn’t resist taking a nap afterwards. Haha! Just a little after noon, we changed into our swimsuits and got ready for an afternoon of just lazing by the pool and soaking in some sun.

IMG_4447

IMG_4458

IMG_4513

IMG_4450

IMG_4516

IMG_4483

IMG_4484
Inside the green bottle is filtered water. So yes, this is us, without alcohol.
A little later, we headed to Alona beach for a different vibe. I haven’t been to Boracay, but they say Alona is like Bohol’s “Boracay” – it’s packed with mini bars, people from different kinds of places, restaurants, music, and at night, the crowd gets even crazier and louder. If you like to party and mingle, Alona Beach is a must-visit.

IMG_6015

IMG_2657

1498402400638

IMG_2658

IMG_4537
The taho vendor, a Filipino staple.
We drove to Linaw Pearl Restaurant for dinner because we wanted some seafood. We helped ourselves to a generous serving of fish, squid and shrimps.

IMG_4546

1498401872234

IMG_4550

Afterwards, we headed back to Bohol Bee Farm Resort for some night swimming. Just a little after midnight, we dozed off and called it a day.

The next day, we joined the Bee Farm tour, where they showed us the different kinds of herbs that they grow and use for their food. And of course, it’s not called the bee farm for nothing – we got to see the bees in action, making some honey!

IMG_4574

IMG_4575

IMG_2680

IMG_2679

IMG_2674

Luckily, my friends knew the owner’s son, so he took us on an inside tour of their factory, where they make their produce. They have ice cream, jams, spread, honey, tea, and all sorts of other products – all natural, organic, healthy and delicious.

IMG_2686

IMG_2684

You can buy most of their products at their restaurant, The Buzz Café. They have several branches in Bohol, and two in Cebu. The food is also really tasty! My personal favorite is their honey-roasted chicken with organic red rice. Yum!

Before we left, our friend was kind enough to show us his mom’s personal space inside the resort. She says she calls it her “home of peace”; truly, her personality shines through her lovely abode.

IMG_4576

IMG_4578

IMG_4583

IMG_4585

IMG_4589

I really love the ambiance of Bohol Bee Farm. It’s not your usual hotel with modern interiors, chic furniture, and shiny bathtubs – but it has a charm of its own.  Being in this place somehow takes me back to a time when life seemed simpler, and the cure to everything was a breath of fresh air and some peace and quiet. Truly, Mother Nature never disappoints.

The next time you need a quick escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, gather a few good friends, pack your bags, and spend a weekend in Bohol Bee Farm.

Take it from me – this was an act of impulse I did not regret taking. 🙂

XO,

Jackie

Leave a Reply

